‘Gossip Girl,’ the grand disappointment

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-4-09-39-pm“You know you love me… XOXO, Gossip Girl.” That same sentence is said at the end of Gossip Girl’s theme song, in every episode. For the most part, that statement is accurate, as Gossip Girl is an extremely popular television series. So popular, in fact, that when I break the news that I did not like Gossip Girl, everyone is shocked! It’s about the same reaction someone would get if you admitted to stepping on a puppy, or tripping an elderly person. So no, I do not want my very own Chuck Bass, and no, I do not desire to have any of Blair Waldorf’s clothes- and I will explain why.

I knew that when I got my Netflix account, I’d have to be up to date on all the popular series. Gossip Girl is extremely common and highly praised by everyone I know who watched it. In fact, I know several people who have re-watched all six seasons multiple times. They just don’t get tired of it! It seems that the antics of Serena Van der Woodsen and Blair Waldorf are endlessly entertaining. So after all my friends begged me to watch Gossip Girl, I finally gave in.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I came into the show with a positive attitude. It had a strong storyline of Serena (Blake Lively) returning to New York City, highly upsetting her prep school and mainly the most popular girl there: Blair (Leighton Meester.)

The series follows family struggles, mental health, and relationship problems that surround each of the main characters. The plot not only revolves around Lively and Meester’s characters, but also their friends/lovers: Nate, Dan, Jenny, and Chuck to name a few. The catch about this show is that all of their personal lives are exposed through an anonymous blog called- you guessed it- Gossip Girl. The characters literally spend the whole series trying to find out who exactly is Gossip Girl, while going through their crazy, messed up lives. Not to mention that as the show progresses, Chuck (Ed Westwick) forms a rocky relationship with Blair- which is notoriously know for being “goals” these days. This is where I begin to really not enjoy the show.

You see, Chuck and Blair are both very twisted characters who constantly play games with each other’s minds and hearts. To me, their relationship is disturbing and unhealthy. They lie, cheat, and make each other sick. I actually became disappointed when their scenes would come on, because I knew it would consist of something petty and dramatic. Now I know that’s how dramas are supposed to be, and truly, I don’t like dramas unless there is comic relief (and believe me, Gossip Girl has none.) However, this just seemed totally unfair and like nothing happy would EVER happen. My mood actually dropped when I would watch the show.

That leads to my point of the show being way too dramatic. Yes, it was a little interesting at first, but only because I didn’t know the characters yet, and I was intrigued to learn about who they were- as I am in any show. However, time went on, and I just became more and more annoyed. The main deal was that I couldn’t stand seeing these kids constantly betray one another, and then sleep together, and then do it all over again. I found myself thinking about the situations being real, and how different they would really go over. It got to the point where watching Gossip Girl became a chore to me; I didn’t look forward to watching it, ever.

So, here’s the part where I do the unspeakable. After watching four miserable seasons of these ridiculously wealthy teenagers ruin each others’ lives, I finally decided to give up, and find out who Gossip Girl was, once and for all. So, I skipped to the very last episode. I know, that was so lame of me, but I seriously couldn’t stand it! I won’t give away who it was for the sake of you who haven’t gotten there yet, but I will say it was very anticlimactic. I was actually mad I’d devoted so much time to this show that didn’t even end well!

To give the show some credit, the creators are extremely talented in the plot, as it is all well thought-out and ultimately connects. Also, the acting is done well too. Blake Lively, for example, is a wonderful actress whom I admire. The fact is, I simply did not enjoy Gossip Girl, and that is okay! The great thing about film and television is that we can all have different opinions on it, and even voice them. So no, Gossip Girl, I do not love you- but I’m glad so many other people do.

Also, to you, reading this blog. Please comment and let me know what you think about Gossip Girl! Feedback is always encouraged here 🙂

About Veronika Jones

Lipscomb University 2020
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘Gossip Girl,’ the grand disappointment

  1. I am never one who gets into the popular TV series such as Gossip Girl, so I very much agree with your opinion here! Although I really like how you added in the positives at the end, and that you respect that other people do like the show. Great post!

    Like

  2. Veronika, I appreciate you enlightening me on the in’s and out’s of Gossip Girl. With it being a show with lots of drama and not much humor, I probably won’t be binge watching it anytime soon. But you did a nice job with the analysis of it, keep up the good work!

    Like

  3. masoncubed says:

    Veronika,
    This blog post is hillarious! It’s awesome that you stick to who you are, and that you aren’t afraid to hold an uncommon opinion. I haven’t watched the show myself, but my assumptions of it sound to be precise. Awesome job!
    – Mason

    Like

Leave a Reply

