10 things you’ll love about “10 Things I Hate About You”

As much as I love binging Netflix series, sometimes a good movie is just what my mood calls for. I know that’s true for other people too, so today I’m going to talk one of my favorites available on the streaming site: 10 Things I Hate About You. There are several great qualities to this film, so this week’s post is going to be about why you should watch this romantic comedy (in no specific order!)

  1. The Sweetness of Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Let it be known that I LOVE Joseph Gordon-Levitt. He is such a wonderful actor and just nails every character he plays. With that being said, he makes Cameron, a new student who falls in love with the popular Bianca (Larisa Oleynik) to die for. He goes to great lengths to impress her, help her, and persuade her to fall in love with him too. Cameron shows Bianca that he has good intentions and he is a true gentlemen, which is becoming more and more rare. Trust me, you’ll really appreciate Cameron and how Joseph Gordon-Levitt portrays him.Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.02.43 PM.jpg

  1. The School

The school this movie is set in is seriously gorgeous. Now, don’t get me wrong, this movie has a very strong, petty high-school aroma (the popular girls, the bullies, the nerds, etc.) However, the outward shots of the school will make your jaw drop. Seriously, most colleges aren’t even that nice.screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-1-03-55-pm

 

  1. The Ridiculous Dad

Bianca and her older sister Kat’s (Julia Stiles) father (Larry Miller) is not only a single parent, but an obstetrician,  which makes him extremely paranoid that his daughters’ can and will get knocked up in high school. Therefore, he enforces the very strict rule that the girls cannot date until they graduate. Because Bianca is much more popular than her older sister, Kat, she is often pursued by boys whereas boys are scared of Kat. This gives their father the idea to make the rule that Bianca can’t date until Kat gets her own boyfriend. Yikes.Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.04.55 PM.jpg

  1. The Guidance Counselor

We meet Ms. Perky (Allison Janney) at the beginning of the film when Cameron meets with her to discuss his first day at school. Cameron is stunned at the crudeness of Ms. Perky from the start. I won’t give it away, but it’s kind of alarming and hilarious when Ms. Perky opens her mouth. Her character honestly isn’t very important, but she definitely adds to the comedy in the film.Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.05.22 PM.jpg

  1. Heath Ledger (!!)

Heath Ledger plays Patrick Verona, the intimidating Australian kid who happens to look much older than the rest of his peers. He is tough as nails and isolates himself from everyone. After being approached by Cameron’s (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) new friend Michael (David Krumholtz), Joey (Andrew Keegan) pays Patrick to ask out Kat. As the movie progresses, Patrick becomes sweeter and kinder, and not to mention charming. Ledger does a phenomenal job as the lead, as well as his other notable roles in film (the Joker!) He will always live on as a fantastic performer. *tear drop*Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.05.52 PM.jpg

  1. Kat’s Fearlessness

Kat is an independent, strong, and fearless teenager. She doesn’t care what anyone thinks of her and she is absolutely not afraid to stand up for herself and whatever she believes in. Although she can be mean and a lot of how she acts is a mask so she won’t get hurt, her courage is pretty inspiring.Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.06.26 PM.jpg

  1. The Musical Number

Going off of the incredible talent Heath Ledger has, he also performs the iconic song “Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You” as an apology to Kat. You’ll have to see the movie to understand the greatness of it, but it just makes you fall even more in love with Patrick (and Heath.)Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.07.27 PM.jpg

  1.  The Prom Attire

The prom scene in this movie is important, but the outfits are what kill me. This movie was released in 1999, so obviously times were different (meaning that the clothes were… um. interesting.) I’ll just let this photo speak for itself.Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.09.10 PM.jpg

  1.  The Poem

The poem Kat writes and reads to her class toward the end of the movie is truly what makes the entire story so meaningful. This is where we as an audience begin to feel for Kat. Although she is catty, rude, and selfish at times, she is still a young girl who has had her heart broken- and she displays this beautifully.Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 1.09.40 PM.jpg

  1. Patrick Verona

Okay, I know what you’re thinking: “Seriously, Veronika? Haven’t you talked about Patrick enough?” The answer is no, I have not. He is one of my all-time favorite characters. Getting to know Patrick throughout this film feels personal, and I really applaud 10 Things I Hate About You for that. Also, just look at him!screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-1-10-44-pm

If this list makes you excited to see the movie, please let me know and please go check it out! Or, if this list makes you want to delete you Netflix account, let me know why! Until next time 🙂

 

About Veronika Jones

Lipscomb University 2020
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 things you’ll love about “10 Things I Hate About You”

  1. I have come across this movie many times on Netflix, but I have never watched it! I am going to watch when I’m on Netflix next.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this movie! I totally agree with every single point and this movie is a classic romantic comedy. Netflix is a huge part of my life and this blog is super cool, I will definitely be checking it out for some recommendations.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. carlyreams says:

    I have never seen “10 Things I Hate About you.” After reading, I feel this is a movie I should take the time to watch. I loved the detail and thought you put into making this movie sound appealing and exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

