“Fuller House:” Fun or Flop?

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.23.38 PMA quick disclaimer about this week’s review: I have only seen the first season of Fuller House, so the following post will be directed at that with no insight on the second season.

Let it be known that I grew up watching Full House, a family comedy show that ran from 1987-1995. I own all the seasons on DVD, have seen every episode over and over again, and can recite most of the script from the majority of the episodes. I credit Full House for giving me my love for television, since all I practically did in the countless, lengthy car rides I went on as a child was watch the show on my portable DVD player. Even as a 19-year-old, I still love the show and what it stands for (the comedy and the heartfelt messages conveyed in almost all the episodes.) Therefore, when I found out there was a spin-off of the series coming out in 2016, I was at first overjoyed at the thought of seeing how all my favorite characters had turned out 20 years later. However, it is almost always true that the sequel is not as good as the original, and knowing this, I began to question the series. Would they just ruin the sincerity of Full House? Would the characters be too annoying to even stand? Are they even still good actors? Well, there was only one way to find out, and that was to watch the series when it premiered on Netflix.

Fuller House is centered around D.J Tanner-Fuller (Candace Cameron-Bure) and her return to her childhood home with her three sons after her husband tragically dies. As the first episode progresses and we see all of the old gang reunite, it is confirmed that D.J and her children will be moving back into the San Francisco house along with her younger sister Stephanie (Jodie Sweetin), her life-long best friend Kimmy Gibbler (Andrea Barber) and Kimmy’s teenage daughter Ramona (Soni Nicole Bringas) to assist her in the raising of her kids. We can already see here the parallels to Full House, which starts with Danny Tanner (Bob Saget) asking his life-long best friend Joey Gladstone (Dave Couiler) and brother-in-law Jesse Katsopolis (John Stamos) to move in and help raise his three daughters after his wife unexpectedly died. It is pretty obvious that D.J is a parallel to Danny, Stephanie to Jesse, and Kimmy to Joey, because they have extremely obvious traits that were shown in the original series. I kind of like this, because it’s familiar and nice to see the loyalty of Stephanie and Kimmy after all these years. It’s also fantastic that the majority of the original cast has returned, because seeing someone else play these characters wouldn’t be the same, and also a little disturbing. Not to mention, the fact that D.J’s married name is “Fuller.” Very PUNny, Netflix. 😉

While the basis of Fuller House is very well done, there are some parts of the show that are disappointing. One thing is seeing D.J, Stephanie, and Kimmy drink and swear when they go out. Now, I completely understand that they are all adults and they are responsible, but one of the great things about Full House was that they didn’t need to have any crude humor, it was all family appropriate and still great. Granted it was a little cheesy, but Fuller House is no stranger to that either. The episodes always try to teach a valuable life lesson, but it’s painfully obvious and kind of over-the-top if you ask me. Not to mention my least favorite part of the show, which is the fact that they try SO hard to be relatable. They make several references to iPhones, selfies, Instagram, etc in so many episodes, and it is way too much. That humor to me just isn’t funny; I know what year it is, stop reminding me, you know?

Honestly, I don’t have a clear opinion on this show. While I don’t think it’s incredibly funny, I am overwhelmed with nostalgia when I see these adults that I watched grow up. I do not regret watching Fuller House, and I would actually recommend it to anyone who ever loved Full House! It provides the closure we never really got because the series finale of Full House left a lot unsaid. With that being said, I wouldn’t suggest watching it if you never cared for the original, because it’s nothing too great or groundbreaking.

Did you watch Full House when you were growing up? Did you think it was wholesome or corny? Did you see Fuller House, and did you like it? Lots of questions this week, I hope to see your feedback in the comments below!

About Veronika Jones

Lipscomb University 2020
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Fuller House:” Fun or Flop?

  1. I love Full House!! I watched it every night before I went to bed when I was in high school. Good advice for Fuller House, though. Sounds like I’ll have to watch!

    Like

  2. Josh Odum says:

    Nice detailed review, it was a good idea to approach it from the perspective of someone who watched the original show. Good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

