“Jane the Virgin” and you, the watcher

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 11.39.59 PMFun fact! I had never heard of Jane the Virgin until I came to college, and I decided to watch it after my new Lipscomb friends told me they wouldn’t add me in their group message unless I was caught up with the show (in a joking matter, might I add; my friends don’t bully me!) Regardless of the fact that they were kidding, I felt persuaded to watch the show anyway, and WOW am I glad I did!

The series centers around Jane Gloriana Villanueva (Gina Rodriguez), a Catholic woman who promised her grandmother, Alba (Ivonne Coll), at a very young age that she would remain pure until marriage. She has kept that promise into her adulthood, even in her long and serious relationship with her policeman boyfriend Micheal Cordero, Jr. (Brett Dier). However, at a routine check-up with her gynecologist, Dr. Luisa Alver (Yara Martinez), Jane is accidentally artificially inseminated with the sperm of Raphael Solano (Justin Baldoni) who is not only Luisa’s half brother, but also the new boss and past crush of Jane. The plot thickens incredibly well throughout the series by including make-ups, break-ups, manipulation, discoveries, and so much more.

I do realize that the summary I just gave seems very basic, but please trust me when I say you need to watch this show. It always leaves you wanting more, which is exactly what television shows strive for. It does have its dramatic moments, but it’s also hilarious! This balance makes you develop a love (or hatred) for the characters, but thankfully it isn’t too emotionally investing.

The first two seasons of Jane the Virgin are available on Netflix, but the third season is currently airing on The CW on Mondays. I would recommend recording the new episodes and catching up on Netflix first, because you won’t want to miss a moment of the show.

Do you watch Jane the Virgin? If so, are you on #TeamMicheal or #TeamRaph? Per usual, I love getting feedback from my readers, so I encourage you to give me your thoughts on the show in the comments below! Thanks for reading!

About Veronika Jones

Lipscomb University 2020
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Jane the Virgin” and you, the watcher

  1. Megan Johnson says:

    I have never watched Jane the Virgin, but now it sounds intriguing! Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I watched the beginning of this show! It is so good. You are a great writer and I loved reading this blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Micah Dempsey says:

    I’ve never watched the show, but I’ve heard it’s hilarious and it’s one of my sister’s favorites. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment